A status quo agreement was an agreement signed between the new independent lords of India and Pakistan and the princely states of the Anglo-Indian Empire before their integration into the new reigns. The form of the agreement was bilateral between a government and a spring state. It provided that all administrative agreements between the British crown and the State would remain unchanged between the signatory regime (India or Pakistan) and the spring state until new agreements were concluded. [1] At the time of independence, different parts of the Indian subcontinent were under different types of administrative arrangements. Mainly, there were two types of jurisdiction, the principalities, large and small, governed by princes and hereditary provinces that were directly under British administration. The British Raj had separate contracts and agreements with several princely states for a variety of objectives, such as the construction and maintenance of roads and power supply facilities, railways, communications equipment, including poles, telegraph and wireless, flights, taxes, currency and coins, external affairs, etc. With the expulsion of the British Raj, these contracts would be automatically cancelled. Thus, the new Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in agreement with the spring chamber (composed of the sovereigns of princes), has reached an agreement to ensure that these administrative arrangements remain unchanged (i.e. deadlock) until the drafting of the new Constitution. Almost all princely states that had such treaties and agreements with the British Raj signed a status quo agreement with the Dominion of India membership instrument.

In Article 4, the Maharajah declared state membership in India. On the basis of its accession, India claims ownership of the entire state, which represents about one third of the territory currently managed by Pakistan. The state of Jammu and Kashmir, bordering India and Pakistan, has decided to remain independent. She offered to sign status quo agreements with both gentlemen.